top of page

The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage, or EYFS as it is usually known, is a statutory framework that all providers and Ofsted registered settings use and this sets the standards that ensure children learn and develop well and is focused on children aged 0-5 years.

There are seven interconnected areas of learning.

The Prime areas of learning are...

  • Communication & Language

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

Once these areas are stronger and more secure, children are also supported in the Specific areas

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding The World

  • Literacy

  • Expressive Arts & Design


The Foundation Stage acknowledges that children need to learn through play and build on their own experiences to have a solid base to learn from.

There are key principles that underline the EYFS and enable children to thrive across the seven areas of learning. These are:

  • A Unique Child: Every child is unique and responds to differently to learning methods and in different way. Every child is capable of being resilient and strong and with the correct guidance, can be a capable learner.

  • Enabling Environment: The environment provided should prompt and encourage good learning and the freedom to expand their development and knowledge, whilst catering to every individual need.

  • Positive Relationships: Children should feel safe and secure and encouraged to be strong and independent when required, which form the basis for building positive relationships in the future.

  • Learning and Development: From following the EYFS Seven Areas of Learning, both Prime and Specific, every child will be taught a range of skills that aid to their mental and physical development.

To find out more, please look at our policy section, or get in touch with us with any questions.

bottom of page